Khari Mateen is a songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist working all over the world. His first credits of note came with The Roots’ 2006 album Game Theory (Grammy nominated), for which he co-produced the title track, “Livin’ in a New World,” and “Clock with No Hands.” In addition to continuing his collaborations with The Roots — he contributed to Rising Down and Undun — he collaborated with Joy Denalane, Jill Scott, Tye Tribbett, James Poyser, J*Davey, and Roots offshoot, Money Making Jam Boys among others. In 2011, Khari produced “Make My,” the title track to The Roots’ Grammy nominated Undun. While producing, Khari began composing for independent films and TV shows. He scored the Sundance series Brick City, which went on to receive multiple Emmy nominations, as well as the HBO Documentary film, Prayer for the Perfect Season.  In 2011, he began releasing solo recordings — Khari (EP) — and in 2012 he released his debut album Wait for Sunrise, a brief set of moody and slightly off-center R&B, through his label, The Lunchroom. Soul Train named it one of 2012’s best releases. Khari was also one of seven men featured in the 2012 Fall Men’s Issue, Philadelphia Style Magazine, Philly Men on the Fast Track to Success. Khari has toured the globe with both Cody Simpson and RJD2 amongst others. In September of 2016, Khari’s song “Day by Day” was placed on OWN Network’s hit television show, Queen Sugar, while simultaneously Fox Network released a project where Khari provided bass used for the re-creation of the music classic film, Rocky Horror Picture Show in October 2016. Khari is staying busy having scored the indie-documentary's We Could Be King and Keepers of the Game which both debuted at the Tribeca Film Festival and has recently finished "Time: The Kalief Browder Story" for Spike TV.


Khari Mateen – Khari EP — 2011

Khari Mateen – Wait For Sunrise — 2012

Khari Mateen - Wishful Thinking- 2014


The Roots – Game Theory — 2006

J*DaVeY – Venus 2 Mars – The Beauty In Distortion. / The Land Of The Lost — 2007

Jill Scott – Let It Be – The Real Thing: Words And Sounds Vol. 3 — 2007

Skillz – Crazy World (12″, Single, Promo) — 2007

The Roots – Rising Down — 2008

J*DaVeY – Boudoir Synema: The Great Mistapes – 2009

The Roots – Undun — 2011

Jill Scott – The Light Of The Sun — 2011

Tess Henley - High Heels & Sneakers  -2013

Son Little - Toes (Co- Production) - 2015

Nao Yoshioka - The Truth -2016


2017: Time The Kalief Browder Story (Original music) 

2016: Keepers Of The Game (Original Music) Emmy Nominated 

2015: Notes From Liberia (Original Music)

2014: We Could Be King (Original Music) Emmy winning

2014: Hell Week (ESPN) (Original Music)

2014: Chicagoland (Original Music)

2013: Jersey Strong (Original Music)

2012: Will Black America Decide the 2012 Election (Original Music)

2011: Prayer for a Perfect Season (Original Music)

2011: Case Sensitive (Original Music)

2009-2011: Brick City (TV series documentary) (Original Music)

2008: Explicit Ills (Original Music)


2010:  Beautiful Vivian Green (Cello)

2013:  See You Leave RJD2 (vocalist) 

2015: "Free" Album by Cody Simpson (Bass Player)

2016: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Bass Guitar) 

2016: "Feeling Whitney" Post Malone (Cello)


Sprite/Fader (Original Music)

American Eagle – Live Your Life Project (Coach)

Musical Director:

Fundamental Films (China) 2008 - 2010

Cody Simpson 2014 - 2015